Skip to main content

2018 Donor Recognition Party

The San Marino Schools Foundation recognized its strong supporters at its annual Donor Recognition Party on May 12, 2018. Approximately, 300 people attended this event at the home of San Marino schools parents Sean Ky and SMSF Trustee Richard Lord.

In addition to recognizing its supporters, SMSF paid tribute to its outgoing president John Simpson who served six years on the board, including an unprecedented three-year Presidential term. Kicking off the tribute was SMUSD Superintendent Dr. Alex Cherniss, who voiced his gratitude for the Foundation’s growth under John’s leadership. Because of SMSF’s growth, the District has been able to advance the quality education for all San Marino Unified School District students. San Marino’s elected officials, Congressmember Judy Chu and Assemblymember Ed Chau, also attended and presented certificates of recognition to John.

In typical John Simpson fashion, Simpson gave an impassioned speech about philanthropy and contribution to the school system. He asked many of the donors to really look at what their passion is and how they can employ that within the District to realize a truly exceptional school district.

The Donor Party presentation continued on by Simpson recognizing all donors who have crossed over the $40,000 and above lifetime giving threshold. They include The Barger Family, Shwu-Nuo Huang & C. Joseph Chang, Jean & George Chen, Elsie Wu & John Chiang, Jane & John Chon, The De Witt Family, Karen & Jonathan Fu, The Gluck Family, The Havner Family Foundation, Joni & John Hsu, Margaret Huang & William Ko, Sylvia & Peter Koh, Joy & Matthew Lin, Anit Siu Chan & Beng Wong Liu, Wendy Hsu & Calvin Lo, Miller Living Trust, Sarah & Eric Miller, Evette & John Ramsay, Rosemary Simmons, Shannon & Kevin Snaer, The Sollitto Family, Spring Arts Tower, Inc, and The Strugar Family.

From there, The Chinese Club of San Marino presented their annual $20,000 donation to the Foundation. Their continued support exemplifies a partnership that furthers the aspiration of exceptional schools. The presentation concluded by Chris Mailing, SMSF’s 2018-2019 incoming president, accepting the mantle from his predecessor John Simpson.

A big thanks goes to the Special Recognition and Events Chair Michele Canon, and the Events Committee which includes Alice Song, Brady Onishi, JiJi Park, and Michiko Lee.  

Our Contributors